San Diego USATF


2820 Camino del Rio South 130
October 16, 2002

  1. President Ken Bernard called the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m. In addition to the President and Secretary, the attendees were Nelson Alexander, Lolitia Bache, Paul Greer, Lillian Mahoney, George Mathews, Tom Meyer, Sharon Powell, Arnie Robinson, Joni Shirley, Elizabeth Tate, and Chuck Woolsey.
  2. The Board approved the minutes of the meeting of August 21.
  3. The President gave the Treasurer's report. The checking account balance was $13,018.77 while the certificates of deposit were another $16,000.
  4. George Mathews, National Chairman for Masters Track & Field, discussed a program he is initiating to establish monthly throws meets at the Association level. The objectives of the program include developing a permanent throws facility and encouraging club participation.
  5. Greer reported on an agreement concerning Balboa Stadium. Rental use will be controlled by San Diego Unified Schools, with San Diego High School maintaining the calendar. Non-profit weekday rates will be $55 per hour, plus $25 per hour for lights. On weekends the rates increase to $125 per hour. David Pain was instrumental in brokering the deal.
  6. Bache initiated a discussion of the website. The Board approved a series of motions. The first motion approved was to appoint Joy Sargis to redesign the pages and to form a committee ensure the site is kept up to date. The second was to put webmaster G. Shirley on the committee. (A motion to have the entire Board of Directors on the committee was defeated.) The third was to have the Standing Sport Committee Chairmen as members of the committee. The fourth was that the committee meet and report back to the Board at the December meeting.
  7. The Secretary reviewed the Bylaws for elections. No nominations being received beyond the slate nominated by the Board, the following officers were elected by acclamation for two-year terms.

    Vice President
    Ken Bernard
    Arnie Robinson
    Lolitia Bache
    Graeme Shirley

  8. The President, with members approval, named the following Sport Committee Chairmen.

    Menís Track & Field
    Womenís Track & Field
    Menís Long-Distance Running
    Womenís Long-Distance Running
    Race Walking
    Youth Athletics
    Masters Track & Field
    Masters Long-Distance Running
    To be filled by 10/31/2002
    Elizabeth Tate
    Paul Greer
    Paul Greer
    Curt Clausen
    To be elected by Youth Committee
    George Mathews
    Ken Bernard
    Jim Skelly
    Lillian Mahoney
    Ken Bernard

  9. Greer gave an update on the Asics Dirt Dogs Cross Country Series. The average race in the series has added 170 runners to the field. 130 individual runners and 21 teams have scored. There are no team awards. The Southern California Association is conducting a series similar to San Diego USATFís and has proposed a season-ending competition. The members unanimously approved Greerís motion to allocate $500 for teams for 2003 ($175, $75, $25 for the top three teams, male and female).
  10. The members selected delegates for the National Convention. Priority was for Officers and committee chairmen, while meeting requirements for active athletes, coaches, and officials. Selections were Nelson Alexander, Ken Bernard, Curt Clausen, Paul Greer, Lillian Mahoney, George Mathews, Arnie Robinson, Graeme Shirley, Joni Shirley, Jim Skelly, Tracy Sundlun, Elizabeth Tate, and Chuck Woolsey.
  11. The meeting adjourned at 9:45 p.m.

    Graeme Shirley

<< Preceding Meeting      Following Meeting >>
<< Preceding Annual Meeting      Following Annual Meeting >>

For More Information Visit the Graeme Shirley Track Home Page

Web Page Created by Graeme Shirley

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict