San Diego USATF


2820 Camino del Rio South 130
December 18, 2002

  1. President Ken Bernard called the meeting to order at 7:06 p.m. In addition to the President and Secretary, the attendees were Nelson Alexander, Lolitia Bache, Curt Clausen, Paul Greer, Adam Henderson, Lillian Mahoney, Mike Mena, Tom Meyer, Sharon Powell, Arnie Robinson, Joni Shirley, Jim Skelly, Elizabeth Tate, and Chuck Woolsey.
  2. The Board approved the minutes of the Annual Meeting of October 16, 2002.
  3. The President gave the Treasurer's report. The checking account balance was $8816.30 while the certificates of deposit were another $16,000.
  4. The Board approved the appointment of Tom Meyer as Menís Track & Field Chairman.
  5. Members of the Board reviewed some of the actions at the National Convention. G. Shirley noted the elimination of National Clubs, effective January 1, 2004, and the continued emphasis on Association Clubs and Club Championships. J. Shirley reported the selection of Honolulu (2005) and Charlotte (2006) as Masters Track & Field Championship sites. Henderson noted that Nelson Alexander had been named National Youth Coach of the Year. Mahoney reported on records. Woolsey announced that the medical manual is almost complete. Robinson discussed his responsibilities with the World Championship Track & Field team, and how the sport has changed since he competed. Alexander reported that the 2003 National Junior Olympics Track & Field Championships would be in Miami, and that the lower age limit for World Juniors Championships had been set at 14. Skelly reported on several items for officials: problems of selection for national meets, the new uniform, Field Lynx becoming the standard within about two years, the increase in pole vault pad size, and the narrower throwing sectors.
  6. Meyer announced the date of the Open and Masters Track and Field Championships as June 14 at UCSD.
  7. Mena reported on the National Junior Olympics Cross Country Championships, where Colby Peters of the Temecula Valley Time Machine won an individual title, and Menaís San Diego Roadrunners took fourth in both the Bantam Boys and Girls divisions.
  8. Tate reported on the womenís track and field schedule, and a problem conducting the Association Championships on June 14. The Board directed the two chairmen to settle on a mutually acceptable date.
  9. Meyer reported for George Mathews that the December 14 throwers meet drew about 20 competitors.
  10. Clausen reported that the January 25 National 30 km Championships would be the first race on the 2003 Grand Prix and a qualifier for the Pan Am meet, which will have a 50 km race March 9 in Tijuana, and a 20 km race March 15 at the Chula Vista marina. Philip Dunn (50 km) and Tim Seaman (20 km) were the Ron Zinn award winners. Clausen also spoke briefly about his activities on the USATF Budget Committee.
  11. Robinson asked for some help editing the plaques for the Awards Dinner.
  12. The Board approved Arnie Robinson as Youth Chairman, based on a Youth Committee election.
  13. Greer announced that Sandy Meister-Meredith won the National Masters 10 km Cross Country Championship.
  14. The meeting adjourned at 9:42 p.m.

    Graeme Shirley

<< Preceding Meeting      Following Meeting >>

For More Information Visit the Graeme Shirley Track Home Page

Web Page Created by Graeme Shirley

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict